An Icebreaker

This topic has 10 replies, 9 voices, and was last updated 3 months, 1 week ago by cgers43.

• Author
     danielloftus
    Participant

For all those who see this,

When did the interest of genealogy first start for you? I have been researching for 3 years (since 2017)

Daniel

Noella Coutts
    Participant

About 18 months ago after a dare from my sister to take a DNA test with Ancestry. And yes it confirmed what I already knew- my Ancestry is …. Irish!!! But I have always been curious about my gggtandmother whose surname was Dunoyer. And somfor a while I wasmhooked.  Not Irish, French. I thought. Perhaps Hugeunot origins? Sadly despite extensive research and even joining  the Hugeunot society I haven’t found out much, in fact I think I am about to throw the towel in on Ancestr!!!!  The records for all of my ancestors simply are not there. Can’t get back beyond ggrandparents! Guess Imam lucky to be able to get that far.
    But I have met a wonderful community of Galway researchers with common ancestors and that has been fun!

Web Editor
    Keymaster

Great idea for a thread.

I think getting back to gg grandparents is a great achievement. Maybe focus on a different branch for a while?

I started with a school project when I was 12. Spent some time with my grandparents asking questions and then picked up seriously in my 20s. A couple of decades later, I’m doing it professionally but still passionate about my own genealogy.

Ellen Stuart
    Participant