Computer Software to aid in Research of Irish Heritage

This topic contains 5 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Bob Frewen 5 months, 3 weeks ago.

• Author
     FinbarMurphy 
    Participant

Hi

I am an amateur researcher of my families Irish ancestry , helped in part by work my father undertook in the 1990’s.

My real job is software development and as I have been working through and extending the work my Father has done it seemed that there are very few if any tools designed to make the research process easier ( Your own website and forum being an exception).  There are obviously many online research resources now available and a multitude of online Family Tree sites and software, but for me I needed a simple set of tools to help me capture and organise my research in a way that worked for me, and allowed me to record things as I found them, and not be constantly looking for notes I had scribbled the week before !

So I have created my own, which I am using successfully to track down various branches of my family and explore the backstories that they produce.  I am interested in exploring the commercial applicability of what has been created.

At the moment these tools are just being used for my private use, so the features and functionality are based on my own ideas / problems faced so I would be very interested in getting feedback and advice from other researchers.  If any forum member would be interested in helping with this please get in touch by replying to this thread.

Kind Regards

Finbar

• This topic was modified 5 months, 4 weeks ago by  FinbarMurphy.
     SandyS 
    Participant

Dear Finbar,

I am blind and need to use screen reading software to access the computer. Are you aware of and knowledgeable as to how to make software accessible to
    those of us using such assistive programs? The major problem I find with commercial software is that much of it isn’t accessible to those of us requiring
    assistive tech.

Take care,